Synthesis AG - SyncML Discussion Forum  

Go Back   Synthesis AG - SyncML Discussion Forum > Synthesis SyncML Products (english) > SyncML Clients for Android

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 2011-12-28, 16:57
Mickets Mickets is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: 2011-05
Posts: 10
Wink Synthesis for Android needs to stay in focus for sync to complete

Dear all,

I notice that if I start any sort of sync with Synthesis SyncML for Android, if I change the focus of the Android device (e.g., move to another application while the syncing is being done), the syncing is cancelled. Therefore, Synthesis must remain on the screen while sync is happening.

Can't this be changed, so that I can alternate to another app and do something else meanwhile?

Some apps I use, such as Titanium Backup and Locus Pro, continue their activities in the background (backup, position logging, etc) by placing a notification in the notification bar. I believe that this has to do with making the app persistent.

It would be great to have this in Synthesis as well, so I don't have to keep staring at the screen watching the syncing... (received 1 of 10000 entries.... 2... 3.... 4... Zzzzzz.... Huh? What was I waiting for?... 100...)

Michael
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 2012-01-07, 19:06
bfo's Avatar
bfo bfo is offline
Synthesis AG
 
Join Date: 2006-06
Posts: 261
Default Re: Synthesis for Android needs to stay in focus for sync to complete

I think your information about changing the focus and stopping the app is not correct. The Synthesis works perfectly in the background.

It might be stopped by Android, if there is not enough memory, but timed sync wouldn't work, if not able to run fully in background.

If the app is so slow, there is probably some other activity on your device which is slowing down the performance. There are known apps like SmoothCalendar or NoLed which are known for such behaviour.

Best Regards
Beat
__________________
Beat Forster, Synthesis AG
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 2012-01-10, 03:20
Mickets Mickets is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: 2011-05
Posts: 10
Default Re: Synthesis for Android needs to stay in focus for sync to complete

The app is not slow. It's just that if I alternate to another app (holding home button) while Synthesis is syncing, as soon as I alternate back to Synthesis, Synthesis' status is idle (as if the Sync button hadn't been pushed). No updated sync status, nothing. It's as if I'd just opened the app that very moment.

I don't think it's the case of Android running out of memory and closing Synthesis, because this happens immediately (alternate out of Synthesis and then back again).

Maybe it's just my device (Xperia X8, Android 2.1). Not the best device.

Anyway, no big deal. I just put it to sync and go do something else.

I can't test now because I'm on a very slow connection (download speed is ~2Kb/s), but as soon as I'm home I'll test again.

Thanks,

Michael
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
android, focus, foreground, sync

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 01:01.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.