Synthesis AG - SyncML Discussion Forum  

Go Back   Synthesis AG - SyncML Discussion Forum > Synthesis SyncML Products (english) > SyncML Clients for Android

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 2010-08-16, 15:11
something2.0 something2.0 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: 2010-07
Posts: 5
Default Problems Syncing HTC-Legend to Horde

Hi all,
i recently bought a HTC Legend and try to sync to Horde (current stable) and I'm facing similar problems like the ones desribed here:
Contacts:
To investigate the issue I tried different settings. Before I did this I disabled the phone's setting to sync automatically to google, so the contacts won't be transferred to google-mail even when using com.google contact type.

1. Initial data (~200 contacts) on the server, phone empty:

a) Neither com.google nor com.htc.sync.provider.weather is activated in synthesis-app.
  • first sync (reload device) works, all contacts show up in the phone adress book as type "Phone".
  • following normal sync deletes all entries on the server (wtf?).
  • after that syncing doesn't seem to work at all.
  • syncing is very slow

b) com.google is enabled in the synthesis-app
either
  • synthesis-client crashes immediatly after starting to sync.
or
  • syncing is very slow
  • it seems to reload the device correctly, but no contact appears in the adress book. the contacts are there, but not visible: if I then sync back to an empty horde server it shows the contacts in its adress book correctly. To get the contacts shown in the adress book: start adress book -> menu -> show (ger: "anzeigen") -> check both options: "Google" and "Show Google-Mail-Contacts" (ger: "Google Mail-Kontakte anzeigen").

2. Initial data on the phone (exported as vcard from server, imported to phone), empty server

a) Importing vcard-file to "Phone" adress book
  • No data will be transfered to server (reload server) independent of setting com.google or com.htc.sync.provider.weather as store to sync

b) Importing vcard-file to "google-account" adress book in the phone.
  • Using com.google all data will be transfered to horde-server without problems.
  • following syncs seem to workcorrectly if you turn on both options: "Google" and "Show Google-Mail-Contacts" (ger: "Google Mail-Kontakte anzeigen") in the contact app options, as described above.

Option 1b and 2b is really fast and working correctly, but you have to provide a gmail-account. It seems that the synthesis client can only handle the com.gmail contact types correctly but not the normal phone type contacts. I don't know the difference between "google-account" and "google-mail-contacts". There are the following adress books on my (german) legend phone:
  • SIM
  • Google
  • Google Mail-Kontakte anzeigen
  • Telefon
  • Facebook

Calendar:
Seems to work flawlessly.

Hope this helps improving the synthesis-client! I'll continue testing. Regards, something3.0
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 2010-10-06, 13:15
something2.0 something2.0 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: 2010-07
Posts: 5
Default Re: Problems Syncing HTC-Legend to Horde

I would like to test if the latest Release 1.8.0.4 fixes the issues, but without purchasing a license I can't test because the trial-license expired with the previous buggy version. I don't wan't to buy a product which may not be working. Any help from Synthesis for this dilemma?

Regards,
someone2.0

P.S.: I already own a License for Windows Mobile Client STD from my last phone. Is it possible to use that already paid license somehow?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 2010-10-07, 09:35
bfo's Avatar
bfo bfo is offline
Synthesis AG
 
Join Date: 2006-06
Posts: 261
Default Re: Problems Syncing HTC-Legend to Horde

Please contact me directly by email so I can provide you with a temporary license.

Regards
Beat
(bfo@synthesis.ch)
__________________
Beat Forster, Synthesis AG
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 2010-10-12, 14:01
something2.0 something2.0 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: 2010-07
Posts: 5
Default Re: Problems Syncing HTC-Legend to Horde

Thanks for the temporary license, which allowed me to test the new versions of the client. Here are the results for the following configuration:
HTC-Legend, Android 2.1 <-> Horde-Webmail 1.2.7

The only probem, which seems to be a new one, is the insertion of two whitespaces between name and surname in the contact list. This happens only while inital sync from the server.

The results in detail for v1.8.0.22 and v1.8.0.4:

Synthesis Client v1.8.0.22

- Newly created Account (com.synthesis)
No more access to phone internal adressbook with synthesis client, so I created a custom account. Seems to work correctly. Inserts two whitespaces between name and surname in the contact list.

- Google adressbook (com.google)
Works, but inserts two whitespaces between name and surname in the contact list.

Calendar: Works without problems.

Synthesis Client v1.8.0.4

- Phone internal adressbook:
After initial sync (german: "Gerät neu laden") to the phone internal adressbook (german: "Internes Telefonbuch", previously empty) all the contacts appear in the contact list, but with two whitespaces between name and surname.
If I restart the synthesis app and go to contact settings, it shows that the contacts were not stored to the internal phone book (0 entries) but to "OTHERS" (german: ANDERE (kein Zugriff möglich)"). The following sync leads to an empty adress book on the server, as described in the previous post.

- Google adressbook (com.google)
Seems to work correctly now, but also inserts two whitespaces between name and surname in the contact list. Client doesn't crash, syncing is also quite fast.

Calendar: Works without problems.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 2010-10-14, 15:08
something2.0 something2.0 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: 2010-07
Posts: 5
Default Re: Problems Syncing HTC-Legend to Horde

Anyone encountered the problem of having two whitespaces instead of one between name and surname in the contact list after initial sync?

If that can be fixed somehow, I would be quite confident with the android version of the sync app. The problem appeared with 1.8.0.22 as well as 1.8.0.4 but not with the earlier versions.

Regards,
someone2.0
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 2010-10-14, 17:42
bfo's Avatar
bfo bfo is offline
Synthesis AG
 
Join Date: 2006-06
Posts: 261
Default Re: Problems Syncing HTC-Legend to Horde

Sounds strange ...

would it be possible to get a log file of such a session ?
This should help to find out where's the root cause (and on which side).

I'd need username and time of the logfile sent to our server, or as zipped attachment if kept on the device.

Regards,
Beat
__________________
Beat Forster, Synthesis AG
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 2010-10-18, 15:52
something2.0 something2.0 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: 2010-07
Posts: 5
Default Re: Problems Syncing HTC-Legend to Horde

Hello Beat,

I had a look into the logfile by myself and it seems that Horde sends the FN-field already containing two whitespaces. To confirm it, I exported manually from Horde adressbook as vcard and looked into the vcard-file and it also contains two whitespaces. Seems to be a bug in the (relatively new) Horde Webmail 1.2.7.

Unfortunatly there is another (unrelated) Problem if I create a new adressbook (com.sysynth) and do not use the google-adressbook:

I cannot add new contacts to this adressebook with the app in the phone. There are only "SIM", "Phone internal" and "Google" as adressbooks to choose from when I create new entries, but not com.sysynth. I also cannot edit entries in this newly created adressbook!

Regards,
something2.0

Last edited by something2.0; 2010-10-19 at 10:03.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
contacts, horde, legend, problems, sync

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 07:23.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.