Synthesis AG - SyncML Discussion Forum  

Go Back   Synthesis AG - SyncML Discussion Forum > Synthesis SyncML Products (english) > SyncML Clients for Android

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 2010-05-13, 18:05
dmlb dmlb is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: 2010-05
Posts: 9
Default duplicate contacts with 1.7.2.2 and eGroupware

Installed (and bought) Synthesis 1.7.2.2 after unsuccessfully using Funambol's client.

Server is eGroupware 1.6.001, using the SyncML patches.

Calender seems to be working well. No duplicates, or other problems.

Contacts is where the problems are:

1) If I do not set a destination, then the contacts get put in as "Phone" contact on a "Reload Device", and I can get to them from the "People" application - this is good! However, on subsequent sync, normal or otherwise, the data on the server is deleted, apart from the in-built eGroupware accounts. These then get added back into the phone's contacts as duplicates.

2) If I set sync'ing up to say gmail's account, then I do not have the duplicate or deleting problem, but the contacts are not present in the "People" application. They are in available though, when I dial, use email.

First step is to upgrade my eGroupware installation to 1.6.003 to get the latest fixes.

Any other pointers from anyone else?

Duncan
  #2  
Old 2010-05-13, 18:56
dmlb dmlb is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: 2010-05
Posts: 9
Default Re: duplicate contacts with 1.7.2.2 and eGroupware

Confirmed with 1.6.003, the same behaviour in that the second sync deletes the servers contact list, and I get duplicates of the eGroupware admin accounts.

D
  #3  
Old 2010-05-13, 19:18
dmlb dmlb is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: 2010-05
Posts: 9
Default Re: duplicate contacts with 1.7.2.2 and eGroupware

Further testing update:

1) Using the gmail account for contacts things are as described in the first entry

2) However, using an Exchange account for contacts, everything seems to work ok. i.e repeated sync's do not delete server data, or cause duplicates on the phone. This work around is ok for me, as I only ActiveSync email, not contacts or calendar for Exchange.

Seems like a separate store for Sythesis might be very useful.

D
  #4  
Old 2010-05-14, 20:54
kartable kartable is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: 2010-05
Posts: 8
Default Re: duplicate contacts with 1.7.2.2 and eGroupware

At least, it is good to know that you installed the patch for SyncML successfully.
My eGroupware version is 1.6.001 and the patch intallation failed. Can I ask you for help ?

Quote:
patching file addressbook/inc/class.addressbook_bo.inc.php
Hunk #1 FAILED at 5.
Hunk #6 succeeded at 610 (offset -1 lines).
Hunk #7 succeeded at 723 (offset -1 lines).
Hunk #8 succeeded at 1098 (offset -1 lines).
Hunk #9 succeeded at 1439 (offset -1 lines).
Hunk #10 succeeded at 1470 (offset -1 lines).
Hunk #11 succeeded at 1481 (offset -1 lines).
patch: **** Can't rename file addressbook/inc/class.addressbook_bo.inc.php to addressbook/inc/class.addressbook_bo.inc.php.orig : Permission denied

Last edited by kartable; 2010-05-14 at 21:08. Reason: code added
  #5  
Old 2010-05-15, 12:51
dmlb dmlb is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: 2010-05
Posts: 9
Default Re: duplicate contacts with 1.7.2.2 and eGroupware

Quote:
Originally Posted by dmlb View Post
Further testing update:

1) Using the gmail account for contacts things are as described in the first entry

2) However, using an Exchange account for contacts, everything seems to work ok. i.e repeated sync's do not delete server data, or cause duplicates on the phone. This work around is ok for me, as I only ActiveSync email, not contacts or calendar for Exchange.

Seems like a separate store for Sythesis might be very useful.

D
Hmm seems I spoke too soon. I now have duplicates on the phone again... Think this was when I sync'd and it stopped half way through.

Will do more investigation. Can I confirm that the SERVER makes the choice whether records are the same?

Duncan
  #6  
Old 2010-05-15, 12:55
dmlb dmlb is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: 2010-05
Posts: 9
Default Re: duplicate contacts with 1.7.2.2 and eGroupware

Of course. Seems two courses of action:

1) I can tar up my 1.6.001 installation, and send it
2) Go grab 1.6.003, install it. All I did was untar it, point my HTTP server at the new install, and copy the the header.inc.php file into the new tree. Seems to be fine for my VERY SIMPLE use - all I use eGroupware for is calendar and contacts.

D
  #7  
Old 2010-05-15, 19:25
dmlb dmlb is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: 2010-05
Posts: 9
Default Re: duplicate contacts with 1.7.2.2 and eGroupware

Quote:
Originally Posted by dmlb View Post
Hmm seems I spoke too soon. I now have duplicates on the phone again... Think this was when I sync'd and it stopped half way through.

Will do more investigation. Can I confirm that the SERVER makes the choice whether records are the same?

Duncan
Ok, confirmed that I get duplicates when I sync using different network access methods.

Steps today:

1) Manually remove all entries in contacts on phone
2) Reload using WiFi network connection
3) Sync multiple time using WiFi network connection
4) Everything fine no duplicates
5) Sync using 3G network connection, note that Synthesis want to do a "slow" sync
6) Duplicates on phone start to appear
7) eGroupware server also has duplicates
8) Sync using a "Reload" over 3G, deletes 1/2 of the contacts, but not all

So, I've had a look at the SyncML preferences on the eGroupware server
http://.../eg/index.php?menuaction=s...es.listDevices
and see two device entries for my handset:

Synthesis AG SySync Client PocketPC STD 3.4.0.6 pda 3578XXXXXX5559
Synthesis AG SySync Client PocketPC STD 3.4.0.6 pda 38E7D8029A4D-3578XXXXXX5559

The 3578... is the IMEI of the phone, and the 38E7 prefix is the MAC address of the WiFi in the phone.

So it seems clear why I am getting duplicates on the phone (I've also spotted that the calendar has them), the server & client think they are different devices.

I assume this needs to be fixed in the client?

Duncan
  #8  
Old 2010-05-15, 19:46
dmlb dmlb is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: 2010-05
Posts: 9
Default Re: duplicate contacts with 1.7.2.2 and eGroupware

Quote:
Originally Posted by dmlb View Post
Hmm seems I spoke too soon. I now have duplicates on the phone again... Think this was when I sync'd and it stopped half way through.

Will do more investigation. Can I confirm that the SERVER makes the choice whether records are the same?

Duncan
Ok, confirmed that I get duplicates when I sync using different network access methods.

Steps today:

1) Manually remove all entries in contacts on phone
2) Reload using WiFi network connection
3) Sync multiple time using WiFi network connection
4) Everything fine no duplicates
5) Sync using 3G network connection, note that Synthesis want to do a "slow" sync
6) Duplicates on phone start to appear
7) eGroupware server also has duplicates
8) Sync using a "Reload" over 3G, deletes 1/2 of the contacts, but not all

So, I've had a look at the SyncML preferences on the eGroupware server
http://.../eg/index.php?menuaction=s...es.listDevices
and see two device entries for my handset:

Synthesis AG SySync Client PocketPC STD 3.4.0.6 pda 3578XXXXXX5559
Synthesis AG SySync Client PocketPC STD 3.4.0.6 pda 38E7D8029A4D-3578XXXXXX5559

The 3578... is the IMEI of the phone, and the 38E7 prefix is the MAC address of the WiFi in the phone.

So it seems clear why I am getting duplicates on the phone (I've also spotted that the calendar has them), the server & client think they are different devices.

I assume this needs to be fixed in the client?

Duncan
  #9  
Old 2010-05-18, 08:01
kartable kartable is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: 2010-05
Posts: 8
Default Re: duplicate contacts with 1.7.2.2 and eGroupware

Quote:
Originally Posted by dmlb View Post
Of course. Seems two courses of action:

1) I can tar up my 1.6.001 installation, and send it
2) Go grab 1.6.003, install it. All I did was untar it, point my HTTP server at the new install, and copy the the header.inc.php file into the new tree. Seems to be fine for my VERY SIMPLE use - all I use eGroupware for is calendar and contacts.

D
Can you send me a tar of your 1.6.003 instead ? I wrote to you in private. Thanks a lot
  #10  
Old 2010-05-18, 09:20
dmlb dmlb is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: 2010-05
Posts: 9
Default Re: duplicate contacts with 1.7.2.2 and eGroupware

Bart, from Synthesis, and I have tracked down the duplicate entry issue and seemingly resolved it. Bart and the Synthesis team will no doubt include the resolution in their next release - it appears to be something specific with my phone rather than eGroupware.

I'd like to thank Bart for his extremely prompt support over the weekend.

Duncan
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 15:19.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.